The Wait

farmer.002
I’ve bought some seed
To sow the land – the land leased
For hungers need
Bare necessities and
A loan to be paid
– Waiting for the rain

My parched land awaits
Thirsting for the refreshing drop
Sultry dry the clouds of dust
While I await the clouds of rain
I thirst, I thirst – my wife, my kids
My land and me. I thirst.

When will the rains come?
When will the loan be paid?
When will I be fed?
When will the roof mend?
I panic, I panic – I’m afraid.
I Hang!

I’ve bought some seed
To sow the land – the land leased
For hungers need
Bare necessities and
A loan to be paid
– Waiting for the rain

O’er the land the wind blows
A storm it gathers
The clouds dense, thick
Darker and hark! the lightning shrieks
Rain, rain gushing pours
My land in delight soaks

It pours, it pours – in torrents flows
It rises, the river bank breaks forth
Engulfs my land, the pots and pans afloat
I hold my kids – my wife looks
I panic, I panic – I’m afraid
I drown!

 

Leave a Reply

