The Duel

duellists

Ol’ Mr.William McCullen
At the table he sat sullen
There was some a bother
Or it seemed rather –
So wise and oh so grey, Mrs.Fanny,
The ‘Mia-Mia Taverns’ granny
She strode up to him and sat
For a little inquisitive chat.
The boy he hurried at her signalled snap
And Ol’ McCullen was into her trap
She ordered a mug of beer
For the ol’ glum to cheer
Peering with her deep blue eyes
She cajoled and coaxed the truth and the lies.
McCullen he saw through the ruse
The mug emptied he tumbled in with the news
“Mrs.Fanny ya would ne’er believe
The queer tale that I must give,
Just on my way home was I
Anchored the boat on the shore nigh”…
“Who goes there?” cried a voice sinister
“Gimme you all ye ‘ave, mister”…
“None but there as I slowly look
But afear I trembled and shook
Then another cried as suddenly”,…
“Aren’t you ashamed to take on ol’men, Bailey?
Draw ya sword, if ye be a man”…
“And the swords clashed a din-din-dan
Around me the sand pranced and twirled
But nobody nay none I beheld
Then a scream and the sand parted
And looked as a body had felled,
Then ‘eard the other spake”, “Goodbye friend”…
“Slowly I inched my way ‘ere, still a dread” …
Mrs.Fanny she cried, “Tis true, tis true, on the rising moon I say
That my Granpaw, he slay Bailey who terrified folk on their way”
Then she called to the boy yet once more,
“A bottle of rum for ye all on Mia-Mia Taverns shore
And I shall down a mug of beer
For my Granpaw, McShear!”

Fierce

Leave a Reply

